Once you delete an assignment all data related to it are lost and the Grade Center column is deleted. You should only delete during the development process, not once the course is live.
If you need to delete an assignment that has student submissions, you delete the student submissions. You have two options:
- Preserve the scores in the Grade Center, but delete the assignment and all submissions. Though the scores remain in the Grade Center, you can’t access the students’ submissions again. The action is irreversible.
- Delete the assignment, the Grade Center column, all assigned grades, and all submissions. The action is irreversible.
Alternatively, make the gradable item unavailable in your course to preserve the submissions and the scores in the Grade Center.
To delete, navigate to the assignment in the course area.
- Click the down-arrow next to the name of the assignment.
- Select Delete.
- Click “Ok”